Cameroon: Gabriel Zabo invites 26 for first WAFCON camp phase

The head coach of the Cameroon women’s national team Gabriel Zabo has summoned 26 players for a two-week training camp of the Indomitable Lionesses, beginning from May 21, 2022 in Yaounde.

It is the Lionesses’ first training camp ahead of the 2022 TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations, with coach Zabo naming a squad comprising of 19 domestic players from the Guinness Super League and six foreign professionals.

Experienced goalkeeper Ongmahan Marthe of AS AWA FC, leads the goalkeeping trio, while France based Messomo Frederique, is the only foreign based amongst the nine defenders.

Former U-20 team captain Mefire Peka Viviane, who is now in the books of Adana Idman in Turkey, is amongst the seven midfielders, while the attack includes teenage sensations Brenda Tabe Ebika and Bongben Confidence of AS AWA FC and Amazone FAP respectively.

Another notable inclusion is current Guinness Super League leading scorer Kameni Djientieu Flora Alice, who have scored 12 goals in six matches this season.

Cameroon will make their 12th appearance at the final phase of the TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations in Morocco after they eliminated Central African Republic and the Gambia.

After the first and second training camps scheduled for Yaoundé, the indomitable Lionesses are expected to wrap up with the third phase of preparations in Spain from June 21 to 29, before heading to the host nation Morocco.

The Indomitable Lionesses will battle Zambia, Togo and Tunisia in Group B, as they look to better their runners up finish in 2004, 2014 and 2016.

Flora Kameni of Cameroon celebrates goal during the 2022 Womens Africa Cup of Nations qualifying football match between Cameroon and Gambia at Ahmadou Ahidjo Stadium, Yaounde, Cameroon on 18 February 2022 (2)

Cameroon Squad


Alang Ayangma Pauline Charlotte (Ebolowa FC), Ongmahan Marthe (As Awa FC), Enyegue Regine Flore (Canon FF)


Moumazim Poumbo Michele (As Awa FC), Doudou Ousmanou (Amazone Fap FC), Magoumkoua Kouesso Jeanne Berenice (As Awa FC), Ambessegue Bakenj Reine (Amazone Fap FC), Nke Nke Nina (As Awa FC), Sindjie Tchanko Diane (Amazone Fap FC), Wanki Awachwi Rita (Amazone Fap FC), Ngono Marie Victoire (Eclair FF de Saa), Messomo Frederique (EvianGT.G, France)


Owona Mballa Genevieve (As Awa Fc), Adama Nyangbang Raissa (Louves Minproff), Nkamo Mandou Yonga Zafirah (FC Yverdon Sport Feminin, Switzerland), Mefire Peka Viviane (Adana Idman, Turkey), Tondji Nkonda Hermine Natacha (As Ain Atiq-Temara, Morocco), Ebenye Ebongue Raissa Maximine (As Awa FC), Ngock Monique (Eclair FF de Saa)


Kameni Djientieu Flora (Louves Minproff), Bongben Confidence (Amazone Fap), Tabe Brenda Ebika (As Awa Fc), Ossol Kevine (As Awa FC), Wabeua Djiatio Doly (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Bella Rose (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Roux Jessy Danielle (Us Orleans, France)


Source: CAF

Grace Boateng

I am Grace Boateng, a sports journalist and a police officer. We bring you nothing but the best in Local and foreign sports news around the globe

Leave a Reply

Next Post


Sat May 14 , 2022
Tokyo 2020 Olympic champion rowers Lucy Stephan OAM, Jessica Morrison OAM and Rosie Popa OAM [women’s four] and Paralympic tennis champion Dylan Alcott OAM have been announced as joint winners of the 2021 Victorian Institute of Sport’s [VIS] Award of Excellence. Lucy, Jessica and Rosie were three of the four […]
%d bloggers like this: